The one about Tights

I have never liked tights and I have never worn tights. I have always been a short or track pant girl and always felt that wearing tights was like being naked.  It just wasn’t me.  My husband would always ask why and the closest thing to tights he would see me in was my layer of riding shorts during mountain biking to help protect the v-jayjay.  Those are the farthest from sexy you can get but he absolutely loved them.  The poor guy never had a chance of seeing his wife in a pair of lulus.  It just wasn’t going to happen!

Then came along a life altering situation that made me think heavily about many things that I once thought were important and others that I used to dislike. It seemed a change was coming!

I bought my first pair of tights!

Not lulus and not a stupidly priced pair of comfy ass huggers but a cheap and surprisingly comfortable pair of tights from Target. I had that “why the fuck not” thought process.  Why had I never wore a pair even in my own home with my husband allowed to oogle my ass and stop wishing I would just buy a pair.  Now, don’t get me wrong, my ass isn’t anything to write home about but to him it was a prize and that is an important piece of the puzzle of marriage.

Previously, to me, his thought process was stupid and as if he would see me, his wife, in a pair of tights. I might as well just hang my ass out.  Isn’t that what wearing a pair of tights feels like?  Well, that was my thought process.

But then someone dies and you start to think. “Really?  WTF?”

He never had a chance to see me in a pair of tights!

When I think about it now, it doesn’t seem like such a big deal. Who gives a shit!

I wonder how many other people lose out on sharing something between the people they love because of silly feelings of inadequacies, or that it’s stupid or simply feeling “uncomfortable”.

Life is too short!

I now own four pair of tights.

Today I wore tights

Leave a Reply

